Find schools that offer continuing education near you.
As mentioned on our main nail tech training page continuing education is important for a professional nail tech. Some states even require proof that you are keeping up to date with your education. Use your ZIP to find a school that offers the required courses…
Keeping Up To Date is A Win-Win Proposal
The beauty field, including the nail tech specialty, is constantly evolving. What you learn in cosmetology school can be out of date quickly. Though most professionals will naturally keep abreast of current developments in their field, the government agencies responsible for licensing often formalize this learning process through CE. Consumers of nail care can then be sure that they are getting the latest, safest and best techniques from their manicurist. And as a provider of nail services and manicures you can be confident that your expert status is secure your knowledge is cutting-edge.
Further to this, instructors are required to take twelve hours of training to brush up on their teaching knowledge and skills.
A good example of a state that requires nail techs to show proof of continuing education is South Carolina. For licensed techs they require twelve hours of training every two years. Six of those hours must be done in-class while the other six can be done online. Three hours of education must be in client safety and health.
Twelve hours every two years is not much and won’t require a lot of tuition. It is a good chance to reconnect with others in the profession, especially if you are an independent salon owner. Classes are also done at various dates and times of day in order to make updates as convenient and painless as possible.
What Nail Goodness Will You Learn?
The subject matter of the classes you must take are not set in stone. You have a variety of topics you can choose from — at least in SC:
- Safety and sanitation when giving a pedicure foot bath
- OSHA, Infection control
- Classy Nail Art
- Social Networking for Your Nail Salon
- Nail Technology (for instance at Lennie B)
- Professional Development
- Nail Art Design
- Business Branding, Planning & Predicting Trends
- Selling Nail Products Through Your Salon
- 3D Nail Designs
- Nail Care update: Techniques and Trends
- The Disappearing Art of Nail Tips (here)
As you can see there’s a good variety of topics to pick from. Many of them will allow you to offer more services to your clients. More services = more income!
CE Requirements State By State
Continuing Education Requirements
|Dist. of Columbia||Must be completed on even-numbered years (i.e., 2018, 2020, etc.). 6 credits are required and 2 must be in health/safety|
|Florida||16 hours of continuing education credits every two years. List of providers here.|
|Georgia||At time of license renewal on odd-numbered years (i.e., 2017, 2019, etc.). You must complete 5 hours of training, 3 hours of which must be health and safety related.|
|Illinois||Complete a 10 hours of training every two years before October 31 on even-numbered years (i.e., 2018, 2020).|
|Kansas||none, unless you are an instructor|
|Minnesota||Complete 4 hours of education every 3 years. 3 hours must be in health and safety and 1 hour on state law for nail techs.|
|Mississippi||You must complete not less than 16 hours of continuing education classes in order to become a master manicurist. Otherwise there is no CE requirement.|
|Nebraska||8 hours of continuing education classes must be done when renewing your license on odd-numbered years.|
|Nevada||A 4-hour infection control class is required every two-years when you renew your license.|
|New Mexico||none, except if your are a teacher|
|North Carolina||A minimum of 8 hours of CE must be done annually in order to maintain your license.|
|Ohio||You must complete 8 hours or more of continuing education very 2 years when you renew your license.|
|South Carolina||12 hours of CE is required EVERY YEAR to maintain your license.|
|Texas||4 hours of CE training every two years. 1 hour safety and sanitation, 3 hours other.|
|West Virginia||4 hours of classes are required every year.|
|Wisconsin||On odd-numbered years (2017, 2019, etc.) you will need to complete 4 hours of training by March 31st. 1 hour must be concerning cosmetology laws and 3 hours must be about salon health & safety.|