Beauty schools have a lot to offer. If you know anything about the beauty industry, you know that it takes creativity, talent, and a lot of ingenuity to make a career as a makeup artist. No matter how talented and hard working you are, the right education can keep you on the path to the best opportunities in Kansas. To get started with your exciting career in hair and makeup, find a Kansas school that can offer you the program to get your license, and get you started.
Are There Training Schools Specific To Makeup In Kansas?
Kansas doesn’t have specific licenses for makeup artists. Instead, you’ll have the opportunity to choose a cosmetology license, or a esthetician license. Esthetician licenses are shorter, but they focus on skin care and facial massages, while a cosmetology course covers all that and hair cutting and styling, as well as hair removal. Both will teach you the basks of makeup artistry, color theory, sanitation and safety, and salon and business management. It all depends on what you are hoping to achieve as a beauty expert.
Your Kansas Beauty License
Getting your license will depend on which path you choose to take. Estheticians in Kansas are required to study for at least 1000 hours some of which you can take via online skin care classes. Cosmetologist courses are at least 1500 hours long. Both cumulate in a practical and theory exam. The specific requirements of the exams will be outlined by the State Board. You can visit the website for study tips and guides. Kansas state law requires that you are at least 17 years old and have at least a GED or high school diploma before you can be eligible for licensure.
Transfer Applications If You Are From Another State
Kansas does not participate in reciprocity agreements with other states. Instead, if you’re looking to transfer your current license to Kansas, you must submit a transfer application. These are decided on a case-by-case basis. If you meet the requirements, you will be required to sit a 20 question exam. If you do not meet the requirements, you may be required to sit both the written and practical exams.
Renewing Your License
Your renewal schedule depends on your licensure, but if you have a cosmetology license in the state of Kansas, you must renew every four years. You cannot practice as a makeup artist without some kind of license. Your date of renewal is August 1st.
No continuing education hours are required to renew your license currently, but if you’re a makeup artist, it’s a good idea to continue training and go back to makeup school long after you’ve started your career. Trends are always changing, and there’s always more to learn, whether it be stage makeup, special effect makeup, or even just the current glamour trends.
Makeup Job Opportunities in KS
Kansas license requirements mean you’ll always be ahead of the game as a makeup artist.
Not only will you learn all about makeup applications and study the latest styles, but you’ll have the opportunity to learn hairstyling, skin treatments, and even specialities like electrolysis and massage. That’ll really help you put customers at ease, as well as helping you land great jobs in salons, spas, and cosmetic companies.
When your ready for something more exciting, you can take supplemental courses in stage makeup and more, and join the entertainment industry. Wherever your dreams take you, you’ll always remember where you came from, and how work in Kansas got you your first great gig.
Makeup Artist Schools in Kansas – Listings
Bellus Academy – 1130 Westloop Pl, Manhattan, KS
Hays Academy of Hair Design – 1214 E 27th St, Hays, KS
Paul Mitchell – 3242 N Rock Rd #106, Wichita, KS
Mitsu Sato Hair Academy – 9062 Metcalf Avenue, Overland Park, KS
Eric Fisher Academy – 6727 W Central Ave, Wichita, KS 67212
Entourage Institute of Beauty and Esthetics – 12004 W 95th St, Lenexa, KS 66215
Crave Beauty Academy – 3804 W Douglas Ave, Wichita, KS 67203
Did we miss any schools makeup schools in Kansas City? Please contact us to let us know.