Working in the New Hampshire beauty industry requires ambition, an outgoing personality, a great sense of business, and, probably most importantly, the ability to put people at ease.
If this sounds like you, you might consider a career in cosmetology, hair styling, or skin care. It takes some work and study at a registered school to start your career. But with a little knowledge, and a lot of hard work, you could be on your way to a rewarding career before you know it!
How Long Is Schooling For New Hampshire Cosmetology?
Once you’ve decided you have some options when you’re looking into a cosmetologist career in New Hampshire. You might choose to complete 1500 hours (about the same as California cosmetologists who study 1,600 hours) of a training program at a college or registered Board-approved cosmetology school.
If you would rather start working right away, or your schedule doesn’t allow for school, you might choose the apprenticeship option instead. You’ll need to work 3000 hours over an 18-month period under the supervision of a cosmetologist who has practiced in the state for at least two years.
Your education should include study and practice of hair cutting, skin care, makeup, and business training. Since nearly 40% of New Hampshire cosmetologists are self employed, a good sense of the business will help you as you begin your career. Use our app to fins a school nearby:
Your New Hampshire Cosmetology License
Before you begin your career, you’ll need to prove your completion of a high school diploma (or even if you’ve finished your cosmetology training in high school!), as well as verify the hours of study and training. Once you have been approved by the board, you’ll need to sit the state exams.
New Hampshire uses the NIC written exam, as well as a New Hampshire law exam, on the rules and regulations for salon operation. You’ll also be required to complete a four hour practical exam.
Each of these exams require a score of 75% or better to pass. Once you pass, the Board will mail you your license.
If you are currently licensed in another state, and wanting to work as a cosmetologist in New Hampshire, you will need to apply for reciprocity. To transfer, your home state must have equivalent or greater requirements for your education or training hours. If your home state’s requirements are lower, you must have either twice the amount of hours work experience, or you must take additional training hours. There is also an application fee that must be paid before your license can be transferred.
Renew Your NH License
Your New Hampshire beauty license must be renewed every two years in your birth month. No continuing education hours are currently required. Simply fill out the application and pay the fee.
Working As An Esthetician in NH
As we’ve already mentioned, many New Hampshire-based cosmetologists choose to work as freelance, or rent their own booths. Because many start with apprenticeships, they also open their own salons. There are many career options with varying salaries and stress levels.
If you’re starting from school, check online for vacancies to build a client base and hone your skills. Check in with sites like this for exciting job opportunities!
Check out this page if you’re worried about your funding for cosmetology school.
Some Beauty Schools in New Hampshire
|Empire Beauty School||1328 Hooksett Road, Hooksett, 03106||Unknown||Esthetics, Barbering|
|Continental Academie of Hair Design||102 Derry Street, Hudson, 03051||$18,374||None|
|Keene Beauty Academy||800 Park Avenue, Keene, 03431||$18,330||Esthetics|
|New England School of Hair Design||12 Interchange Drive, West Lebanon, 03784||$17,000.00||Manicuring|
|American Institute Of Haircolor||7449, 144 Harvey Road, Londonderry, 03053||Unknown||None|
|Paul Mitchell The School Portsmouth||140 Congress Street, Portsmouth, 03801||$16,200||None|
Did we miss any cosmetology trainers in NH in this list? Please let us know.