Wyoming is famous for its cowgirls, home cooking, and beauty! And as it turns out, it’s not just about the natural beauty. Some of the best beauty schools in the country can be found in Wyoming. If you’re interested in helping others feel and look younger and healthier, than a career as an esthetician might be the best choice for you. To work as an esthetician in Wyoming, follow this comprehensive guide.
To become a licensed esthetician in Wyoming, there are a few basic requirements. You need to be at least 16 years old. You don’t need a full GED, but you do need at least a 10th grade education.
Once that’s done, you’ll need a full 600 hours of education at one of Wyoming’s many, accredited beauty schools. Check below to see how much it might cost. That’s 180 hours of skin care theory, 200 hours of the theory and chemistry of skin care technology, and a total of 200 hours of practical experience, half of which is spent on real clients in a controlled professional setting. That’s where you’ll get hands-on experience with the techniques and technologies involved in everything from skin analysis, to steaming and chemical masks, hair removal, massage, and advanced makeup techniques, just to name a few.
There’s also a 50 hours professional standards course, and 10 hours on the specific laws pertaining to Wyoming skin care professionals.
Getting Your License
When you’ve completed the required coursework and practical hours, you’ll need to sit your NIC exams. This is a full day of exams. You’ll be required to take your theory and practical exams on the same day, with a break in between. You will need to pay for the application, and sign it with a notary. As part of your practical exam, you’re also required to bring your own kit and mannequin head. Once you pay the exam fee, you can contact the NIC board for the dates and times. In order to qualify for a license, you’ll need a 75% on each exam.
If you’re currently working as an esthetics professional in another state, you will need to be certified in Wyoming before you can work here. You’ll need a current license from your home state. You will also need all the documentation required for your state exams, and an official certification of records from the state of your original license. These need to be notarized and sent directly to the Board Office. If you have less than 600 hours of training, you will need to prove at least a year of work experience.
How To Renew Your License
Your first license is good for one year. After that, it must be renewed before the last day of your birthday month, every two years. For continuing education you might consider something like oncology esthetician training to up your pay grade!
Esthetician schools in Wyoming boast close to 100% hiring rates for graduates. Your school can help you find a work placement to complete your required practical hours, and this is often the best place to connect you with job opportunities early in your career. If you’re looking for work, www.wyomingatwork.com is a good place to start when looking for esthetician jobs. Start your career, and you could be making $35-$40 grand annually in no time!
Some Esthetician Schools in Wyoming
|Rocky Mountain Academy of Hair Skin and Nails||315 East 5th Street, Casper, 82601||Tuition: $6,000||Cosmetology, Nail Technology, Barbering, Hair Styling|
|Styles School of Cosmetology||1202 South Federal Boulevard, Riverton, 82501||Tuition: $4,500||Cosmetology, Hair Styling, Nail Technician|
|Cheeks Academy||207 West 18th Street, Cheyenne, 82001||Tuition:$7,300|
Deluxe Student Kit & book Set:$800
|Cosmetology, Hair Styling|
Exam info for WY – pdf.
Check below for school links…
Estheticians in the US – Schools by State
Schools for Estheticians in Canada
Links to schools: