Vermont’s resorts are a favorite spot for relaxation and fun, and that makes them a great spot for a spa date. If you’re interested in beauty, relaxation, and helping people feel their best, a program at one of Vermont’s many cosmetology schools can help you become the cosmetologist of your dreams. Embrace the spa life, and start on the road to your license today!
How Many Hours is Cosmetology Training in Vermont & What Will You Learn?
To qualify as a cosmetologist, Vermont requires that you are at least 18 years old, and have a high school diploma or equivalent. You are able to choose either a 1500 hour program in the classroom, or 24 months of study with an approved apprentice, who has been licensed and in good standing for at least five years. Some hours can likely be completed while still in high school — check with them to find out.
In a formal education setting, you will learn the basics of hair dressing, makeup application, manicure and pedicures, and facials. You should also learn about safety requirements and state laws pertaining to salon ownership.
Get Your Vermont Cosmetology License
Before you can get your license, you’ll need to take three exams.
The written, the practical, and the jurisprudence exam. Your written and practical exams will be administered by PCS, and the Jurisprudence exam will be through Iso-Quality testing.
You need to schedule your own exams online whether you attended a registered program, or an apprenticeship. Once you’ve passed all three, the testing facility will notify the Vermont Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists, and they will issue your license.
If you have work experience and have been licensed in another state, you are eligible for a license without sitting your exams.
Check with the state board to see if your home states requirements are equal to Vermont’s.
If your home state requires less than the 1500 hours needed for a Vermont license, you will need to prove that you have obtained the hours through work.
That means working as a cosmetologist for the immediate three years before the date of your application, and working for at least 2,000 hours in a single year.
You will still need to pass the jurisprudence exam, since it covers state regulations and laws.
How To Renew Your VT License
Vermont cosmetology license are valid for two years. The date of renewal is November 30th of odd-numbered years. You will be mailed your application for renewal.
No continuing education is required to renew unless you also hold a cosmetologist instruction license. In that case, you are required to submit proof of 24 hours of continuing education per licensing period. At least six hours should be an education course.
Employment Opportunities For Beauty Professionals in VT
Working in Vermont as a cosmetologist means being flexible. You may choose a salon, spa or resort to earn your clients and reputation. You might want something a little more flexible, so you can choose to rent a chair, to give yourself some freedom though your salary may not be as steady.
Belonging to associations can help you grow your customer base, and be aware of your rights and responsibilities.
Whatever you choose, try thinkvermont.com/find-job/ to get a jump start on your exciting new career.
Some Vermont Cosmetology Schools With Costs
|O'Briens Aveda Institute||400 Cornerstone Drive #220, Williston, 05495||$15,800||Barbering, Esthetics|
|Stafford Technical Center||22 Stratton Road, Rutland, 05701||Unknown||Many|
|Central Vermont Career Center||155 Ayers Street Suite #2, Barre 05641||Unknown||Many|
|Center for Technology, Essex||2 Educational Drive, Essex Junction, 05452||Unknown||Many|
Other Vermont schools for nail technicians, estheticians, and barbers.
Did we miss any cosmetology schools in Vermont? Please let us know.